
State of Maine: Notice of State Agency Rulemaking:  Wednesday, February 5, 2025 ONLINE 

  Page 1 of 7  
 

 

NOTICE OF STATE AGENCY RULEMAKING 
 
PUBLIC INPUT FOR RULES A list of state agency rule proposals is published here each 
Wednesday. You can get a copy of a proposed rule by contacting the person listed in the 
notice. You can comment on a proposed rule by submitting a written comment to the agency or 
by attending the public hearing, if one is scheduled. If no hearing is scheduled, you can request 
one.  The agency must hold a hearing if it receives 5 or more requests.  If you have a disability 
and need assistance to participate in a hearing you should tell the agency at least 7 days before 
the hearing. ONLINE INFORMATION Weekly notices, full text of adopted rules, and a list of 
agency rulemaking contacts are available at this website: 
https://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/index.html  
 

PROPOSALS 

 
AGENCY: 10-144 Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease 
Control and Prevention 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 258, Control of Notifiable Diseases and 
Conditions Rule 
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P006 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
BRIEF SUMMARY:  The Department proposes routine technical rule changes to its rule to 
control specific notifiable communicable, occupational, and environmental diseases and 
conditions, as authorized by Maine law (22 MRS chapter 250). Proposed changes include 
adding COVID-19, Enterococcus resistant diseases, Hard Tick Relapsing Fever, Hepatitis C 
(acute and chronic), Mpox virus infection, PFAS serum test results and removing Rabies post-
exposure prophylaxis from the notifiable diseases list, which will align with US CDC’s 
priorities for state surveillance. In addition, the Department proposes to clarify definitions for 
“Child Care Facility” and “Commissioner”, add a definition of “Occupational Disease”, update 
national standard references, and clarify language in Section 2 around what, when, and how to 
report notifiable diseases and conditions. The proposed rule improves Maine’s ability to 
prepare for, investigate, and respond to cases, epidemics and occurrences of communicable, 
environmental, and occupational diseases and declare health emergencies in the event of an 
actual or threatened epidemic or public health threat.  
 
The Department is proposing to remove the maximum cap that it may fine a laboratory per 
year, clarifying that each report submitted by a laboratory or reporting facility in a manner 
inconsistent with this rule is considered a separate civil violation, subject to fine imposition (22 
MRS § 804). The Department proposes to incorporate its recent authority to assess a fine of 
between $250 and $1,000 for each violation, in accordance with 22 MRS 804(2) and PL 2021, ch 
349, § 8, for each day a person or entity fails to comply with an order to cease and desist, and 
repeated noncompliance may result in progressive enforcement action. Additionally, the 
Department propose changes to Section 6 to reflect recent law changes authorizing an 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.maine.gov%2Fsos%2Fcec%2Frules%2Findex.html&data=05%7C02%7CJ.Chris.Parr%40maine.gov%7C645b27059f0346864d7008dc94834bf0%7C413fa8ab207d4b629bcdea1a8f2f864e%7C0%7C0%7C638548538834447354%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=K93i9Iukz%2F4M1hnG1XnmVSNiEpRD2zB99vb6RheIZ8A%3D&reserved=0
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Associate Local Health Officer to assist with the duties of the Local Health Officer during an 
actual or threatened epidemic or other public health threat. (P.L. 2023 c. 46.) Minor changes to 
address format are also included. 
PUBLIC HEARING (if any): Not scheduled. A public hearing may be requested by 
contacting the person identified below for this filing. (5 MRS § 8053(3)(B).) 
COMMENT DEADLINE: Monday, March 10, 2025 
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: Bridget Danis; 11 State House Station – 286 Water 
Street, Augusta, ME, 04333-0011; Tel: 287-9394 or 711 (TTY); Fax: 287-2887; 
bridget.danis@maine.gov  
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): 
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any):  None 
anticipated. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 5 MRS §19203; 22 MRS §§ 42(1), 802(3), 821 
and 835  
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): 
AGENCY WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/rules/  
AGENCY (MAINE CDC) RULEMAKING LIAISON: Tera.Pare@maine.gov 
DHHS WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/  
DHHS RULEMAKING LIAISON: Emily.A.Cathcart@Maine.gov  
 

 
AGENCY: 10-144 Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Family 
Independence 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Chapter 301, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program (SNAP) Rules (Alpha Index, Table of Contents, Sections 1, 111-2, 222-5, 222-6, 444-1, 
444-4, 444-8, 555-3, and 999-1; SNAP Rule #227 – Noncitizen Language) 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P007 
BRIEF SUMMARY: The purpose of this proposed rule is to clarify program requirements in 
Sections 1, 111-2, 222-5, 222-6, 444-1, 444-4, 444-8, 555-3 for SNAP applicants and recipients as 
well as Department staff pertaining to citizenship and noncitizen eligibility consistent with 7 
C.F.R. § 273.2(f)(ii). Throughout the proposed rule’s open sections and Table of Contents 
“Noncitizens” replaces “aliens.” The rulemaking proposes continued non-substantive changes 
to improve the readability and inclusivity of the manual. In addition, the proposed rule would 
remove Code of Federal Register (C.F.R.) citations in the headers of open sections as these 
citations are unnecessary and are identified within the sections as applicable. 
 
Eligibility for citizens of Compact of Free Association nations would be added consistent with 
the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2024. 
PUBLIC HEARING (if any): Monday, February 24, 2025, at 9:00 a.m., in room Maine A/B at 
109 Capitol St Augusta, Maine 04330. The Department requests that any interested party 
requiring special arrangements to attend the hearing contact the agency person listed below 
before Tuesday, February 18, 2025. 

mailto:bridget.danis@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/rules/
mailto:Tera.Pare@maine.gov
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/
mailto:Emily.A.Cathcart@Maine.gov
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COMMENT DEADLINE: Friday, March 7, 2025, at 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time. 
Written public comments may be submitted via the link at 
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/rulemaking 
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: 
Michael Downs, Senior Program Manager - SNAP 

Department of Health and Human Services 
Office for Family Independence 
109 Capitol Street 
Augusta, ME 04330-6841 
Phone: (207) 592-4850/Fax: (207) 287-3455 
TT Users Call Maine Relay – 711 
Michael.E.Downs@maine.gov 
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): N/A. 
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): None 
anticipated. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 22 MRS §§ 42(1), 3104(13), and 3104-A. 
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED: P.L. 118-42 and 
P.L. 2021, c. 398. 
AGENCY WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi  
EMAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULEMAKING LIAISON: 
Emily.A.Cathcart@maine.gov 
 

ADOPTIONS 

 
AGENCY:  01-015 Maine Milk Commission, Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Chapter 3-Schedule of Minimum Prices Order#02-25 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-019 
 
CONCISE SUMMARY: 
 
Minimum February 2025 Class I price is $24.52/cwt. plus $1.63/cwt. for Producer Margins, an 
over-order premium of $1.04/cwt as being prevailing in Southern New England and $0.47/cwt. 
handling fee for a total of $27.86/cwt. that includes a $0.20/cwt Federal promotion fee.   
 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Sunday, February 2, 2025 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:  Julie-Marie R. Bickford 
AGENCY NAME:  Maine Milk Commission, DACF  
ADDRESS: 28 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333 
TELEPHONE: 207-287-7521 
 
 
AGENCY: 02-382 Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Affiliated Board, 
Maine Board of Optometry 
 

https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/rulemaking
mailto:Ian.Miller@maine.gov
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi%20about/rulemaking
mailto:Emily.A.Cathcart@maine.gov
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CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:  
 
Chapter 1, Initial Licensure and Renewal, License by Endorsements, Fees and Continuing 
Education 
Chapter 2, Advisory Rulings 
Chapter 3, Enforcement, Disciplinary Procedures, and Appeals 
Chapter 4, Telehealth Standards, use and Limitations 
Chapter 5, Code of Ethics 
 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBERS: 2025-020 (Ch. 1), 2025-021 (Ch. 2), 2025-022 (Ch. 3), 2025-
023 (Ch. 4), 2025-024 (Ch. 5) 
 
CONCISE SUMMARY:   
 
The Board is undergoing a repeal and replace of the rules of all existing chapters including 
application for examination, license endorsement approved schools, license renewal 
requirements, fees, continuing education,  telehealth Standards, use, and Limitations, and  ethics.  
Such broad rulemaking  is required because the Governor signed a full repeal and replace of the 
laws as enacted by the 131st legislative sessions and the new law needs clarifying rules. 
Rulemaking authority is conferred by 32  M.R.S.A. § 19204 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Sunday, February 2, 2025 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Tina Carpentier  
AGENCY NAME: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Affiliated Board, Maine 
Board of Optometry 
ADDRESS:  113 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333 
TELEPHONE: 207-624-8691 
 

 
AGENCY: 10-144 Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Family 
Independence 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Chapter 332, MaineCare Eligibility Manual (Part 2 
MaineCare Rule 310A – Part 2, Section 9 Update) 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-025 
 
CONCISE SUMMARY:  
 
The adopted rule updates Part 2, Section 9: INDIVIDUALS RESIDING IN PUBLIC 
INSTITUTIONS. The adopted rule updates Section 9 (I) to “Inmates of state prisons, Long 
Creek Youth Development Center, and local or county jails are eligible for Medicaid coverage, 
as set forth in 10-144 C.M.R. Ch. 101, Ch. I, Section 1 (1.04-B) if they meet the financial and non-
financial criteria applicable to non-inmates.” The adopted rule change is consistent with 
legislative changes to 22 M.R.S. §3174-CC made by P.L. 2023, Ch. 458, An Act to Improve the 
Health of Maine Residents by Closing Coverage Gaps in the MaineCare Program for Incarcerated 
Persons. 
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See https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/rulemaking for rules and related rulemaking 
documents. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Tuesday, February 4, 2025 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: 
Adam Hooper, MaineCare Program Manager 
Office for Family Independence 
Department of Health & Human Services 
109 Capitol Street 
Augusta, ME 04333 
Phone: (207)441-4916/ Fax: (207)287-3455 
TT Users Call Maine Relay – 711 
Adam.Hooper@maine.gov  
 

 
AGENCY: 10-146 Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease 
Control and Prevention 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 1, Transportation, Storage and Final Disposition of 
Dead Bodies 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-026  
 
CONCISE SUMMARY:  
 
Maine’s Department of Health and Human Services is adopting this rule on an emergency basis 
to comply with Public Law 2023, chapter 677, which requires the collection of an additional $5.00 
fee for burial-transit permits issued for the transportation, temporary storage, disinterment, or 
final disposition of a dead human body. This rule change is effective immediately upon filing 
and concurrent with the emergency adoption of 10-146 CMR Chapter 7, a related rule, to ensure 
that the legislatively mandated burial-transit permit fee is reflected in rules containing charges 
for the permit, providing for the law’s appropriation of funds to support Maine’s Cemetery 
Preservation Commission. Additionally, this rulemaking replaces the outdated reference to a 
repealed statute (30 MRS § 2352) with the correctly referenced statute, 30-A MRS § 2652. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Friday, January 31, 2025 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: 
NAME:   Bridget Danis, Policy Analyst 
ADDRESS:   11 State House Station 
   Augusta, Maine 04330 
TELEPHONE:  (207) 287-9394 
E-MAIL ADDRESS: bridget.danis@maine.gov 
 

 

https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/rulemaking
mailto:Adam.Hooper@maine.gov
mailto:bridget.danis@maine.gov
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AGENCY: 10-146 Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease 
Control and Prevention 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: 10-146 CMR Chapter 7, Vital Records Fees 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-027 
 
CONCISE SUMMARY:  
 
Maine’s Department of Health and Human Services Maine Center for Disease Control and 
Prevention is adopting this rule on an emergency basis to assess an additional $5.00 for burial-
transit permits issued under this rule, ensuring that the legislatively mandated burial-transit 
permit fee increase is accurately reflected in the Department’s rule that contains vital records 
fees. This emergency adoption will update the charges for the permit required for the 
transportation, temporary storage, disinterment, or final disposition of a dead human body and 
enable the Department to specify in the rule that the additional $5.00 fee charged will be 
deposited into the Cemetery Preservation Fund, in accordance with 13 MRS § 1374, which 
governs the Maine State Preservation Commission. This emergency rule change becomes 
effective immediately upon filing with the Secretary of State and is concurrent with the 
Department’s emergency adoption of changes to its Transportation and Final Disposition of 
Dead Bodies Rule (10-146 CMR Chapter 1), to comply with Public Law 2023, Chapter 677 and 
required the Department to increase its burial transit permit fee by amending Chapter 1, which 
was required by December 15, 2024.  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Friday, January 31, 2025 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: 
NAME:   Bridget Danis, Policy Analyst 
ADDRESS:   11 State House Station 
   Augusta, Maine 04330 
TELEPHONE:  (207) 287-9394 
E-MAIL ADDRESS: bridget.danis@maine.gov 
 

 
AGENCY: 10-144 Department of Health and Human Services, MaineCare Services, Division 
of Policy 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:  Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual, Chapter III, 
Section 67, Principles of Reimbursement for Nursing Facilities 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-028 
 
CONCISE SUMMARY: 
 
The Department adopts this emergency rule, which amends Chapter 101, MaineCare Benefits 
Manual, Chapter III, Section 67, effective February 1, 2025.  
 
The Department’s principal purpose of this emergency rulemaking is to establish new 
reimbursement methodology for Nursing Facilities. These changes include moving toward 
creating a prospective payment system that incorporates acuity measures that capture the 

mailto:bridget.danis@maine.gov
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range of need associated with caring for all residents, decreases administrative burden, and 
ensures rates keep pace with changes in the cost of delivering services.   Regional variations for 
labor costs, as required by 22 M.R.S. Sec. 1708(3)(E), have been revised so that the four regions 
all have a factor of 1.0 for the four regions, to reflect the fact that analysis does not show any 
regional variation in labor costs.  Occupancy adjustments have also been removed, at the 
request of providers in the Rate Reform process and to the benefit of providers 
 
In compliance with 22 M.R.S. Sec. 3173-J(2), the Department conducted a rate determination 
process: a Rate Determination Initiation Notice was issued on January 12, 2023. MaineCare 
presented the draft reimbursement methodology and definitions to providers and interested 
stakeholders on March 13, 2023; April 12, 2023; May 17, 2023, June 5, 2023; June 26, 2023; March 
7, 2024; March 8, 2024, and October 23, 2024. The Department accepted public comments 
through October 30, 2024, and responded in writing to comments with an explanation of 
whether and how feedback was incorporated into the final reimbursement methodology and 
rates. 
 
The Department shall submit to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, and anticipates 
approval, for State Plan Amendments related to these provisions.   
 
Pursuant to 5 M.R.S §8054, this emergency rule may be effective for up to ninety (90) days. The 
Department shall proceed with routine technical rulemaking to permanently adopt these rule 
changes. 
 
See http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oms/rules/index.shtml  for rules and related rulemaking 
documents. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Saturday, February 1, 2025 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:   Derrick Grant, Special Projects 
AGENCY NAME:                           Division of Policy  
ADDRESS:      109 Capitol Street 
         11 State House Station 
         Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 
EMAIL:      derrick.grant@maine.gov 
TELEPHONE:    (207)-624-6931 FAX: (207) 287-6106 

TTY users call Maine relay 711 
 

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oms/rules/index.shtml

